2 – “The Center of Everything” by Laura Moriarty

RATING: Enjoyable but…eh.

I just finished reading this book last night.  I still can’t really put my finger on whether I really liked it or not.  I mean, I enjoyed the book and I really liked the main character, Evelyn.  It’s just one of those books that is just all-around sad.

Evelyn’s life basically sucks.  The book begins when she is 10 years old and starting 4th grade.  When the book ends, Evelyn is just finishing her senior year of high school.  She goes through many things.  Some of it is the typical teenage angst.  Other things make you just want to shake your head and say, “What are you thinking!?”  Evelyn definitely isn’t naive to the world.

I can’t help but feel bad for her, though.  She thinks she’s ugly.  Her lack of self-esteem with that issue is only ground in further when her best friend, Deena, gets a “9” rating from a random guy and she gets “I guess a 4” from him.  But she’s also a deep thinker and it comes off good in some instances and bad in others.

When the book ended, I thought it was enjoyable, but it was also sad.  More sad than anything else.  Yeah, Evelyn grows up and learns more about herself through the struggles of her mother and best friend, but she’s also pretty jaded about life.  And for Evelyn to be so jaded at 18…I can’t help but wonder if she’ll reach her dreams.  It’s a very “eh” ending for me.

I’m not sure if I’d recommend this or not to anyone.  It can’t hurt to read it…but……eh.

Next Up: The Bronze Horseman by Paullina Simons

Leave a Reply

