21 – Random

Um…there’s not much to talk about, really.  Don and I have finished our second week of the You Are Your Own Gym 10-week beginner’s strength training program.  I’m not really hurting much at all.  In fact, we’re both really encouraged by how much stronger we feel after this second week.

After reading more about the amount of protein we should be eating since we’re building muscle, I changed our meal plan on E-Mealz.  Instead of the low fat plan we had been using, we’re now on a low carb plan.  This has been great for us.  There’s meat in every dinner and tons of fruit and veggies.  Don’s pretty happy about the food.  Though, I’ve found he really, really doesn’t like tilapia.  We’ve had it twice and it hasn’t gone over well.  So, I think with any future tilapia meals, I’ll just substitute chicken.

My goals are going well, too.  I’ve made it another month of working out.  It’s been really great to have Don joining me these last couple weeks.  In addition to our bodyweight exercises, I’ve still maintained my walking a couple days a week to burn more calories.  It’s been good.

I’ve read some good books the last few weeks.  I just finished The Help the other day.  I loved it!  It was great!  I’m in the middle of Priceless: How I Went Undercover to Rescue the World’s Stolen Treasures by Robert Wittman.  It’s so good!  The author is a former FBI agent who was in charge of the art crimes division (?) and recovered many, many stolen pieces of history.  If you liked the movie The Thomas Crown Affair, you’d like this book.

Not much else is going on.  Sorry this is such a lame post.  🙂  Hopefully more fun soon!

Leave a Reply

