34 – Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman

I was recommended this book by many of the lovely ladies in the Nest Book Club.  A lot of them are huge Neil Gaiman fans and rave about this book.  So I gave it a chance.  Here’s the summary from Goodreads.com.

“When Richard Mayhew stops one day to help a girl he finds bleeding on a London pavement, his life is forever altered, for he finds himself propelled into an alternative reality that exists in a subterranean labyrinth of sewer canals and abandoned subway stations. He has fallen through the cracks of reality and has landed somewhere different, somewhere that is Neverwhere.”

OK…so I really enjoyed this book. 4-4.5 stars from me.

I really liked the ending.  I loved Richard as the male lead. I loved seeing him grow and change throughout the story. I guess there was a female lead…and yet she wasn’t. She was kind of in the spotlight and yet not. I don’t know. I liked her…but, eh. 

I think it was very cool how Gaiman created this entire world below London and how people down there didn’t really age. So many of them were dressed in clothes from times gone by. I wish that would have been fleshed out a bit more.

I’m still not sure what I thought was missing from this book. I wasn’t totally in love with it. I just know it’s not a book that I would absolutely have to read again. I liked it…enjoyed the reading experience…but wouldn’t think twice about just putting it up on the bookshelf for years. I was surprised by this…I usually love everything NBC recommends!

But seriously, it was a good book that I’d recommend just because it was very different.

Leave a Reply

