38 – Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

This book came highly recommended to me from the ladies in the Nest Book Club.  Here’s what the Goodreads summary says.

“The year is 1945. Claire Randall, a former combat nurse, is back from the war and reunited with her husband on a second honeymoon–when she walks through a standing stone in one of the ancient stone circles that dot the British Isles. Suddenly she is a Sassenach–an “outlander”–in a Scotland torn by war and raiding Highland clans in the year of Our Lord…1743.

Hurled back in time by forces she cannot understand, Claire is catapulted into intrigues and dangers that may threaten her life…and shatter her heart. For here she meets James Fraser, a gallant young Scots warrior, and becomes a woman torn between fidelity and desire…and between two vastly different men in two irreconcilable lives.”

:::sigh::: I loved this book and I hate that I have to wait a few days for the next one to be delivered to my house.

This is a truly wonderful love story. I cannot believe that there is another couple that I love more than Mr. Darcy and Lizzie Bennett…but there is. Jamie and Claire and the life they have and create is a thing of beauty.

On an historical note, the book had me seriously interested in the history of Scotland and the Highlands in particular.  I’d love to read more about that era and the wars.  Not to mention, even just reading about their attire and their way of living was fascinating.

I was brought to tears by the love and passion Jamie and Claire have for each other. I seriously cannot wait to read the next book.

Leave a Reply

