39 – The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

Here is another book that came highly recommend by my book club ladies.  It only came out two weeks ago and has been given fantastic reviews.  Here’s the Goodreads summary.

“Diagnosed with Stage IV thyroid cancer at 12, Hazel was prepared to die until, at 14, a medical miracle shrunk the tumours in her lungs… for now.

Two years post-miracle, sixteen-year-old Hazel is post-everything else, too; post-high school, post-friends and post-normalcy. And even though she could live for a long time (whatever that means), Hazel lives tethered to an oxygen tank, the tumours tenuously kept at bay with a constant chemical assault.

Enter Augustus Waters. A match made at cancer kid support group, Augustus is gorgeous, in remission, and shockingly to her, interested in Hazel. Being with Augustus is both an unexpected destination and a long-needed journey, pushing Hazel to re-examine how sickness and health, life and death, will define her and the legacy that everyone leaves behind.”

I’m not even sure where to begin. This book was beautiful.

Even though the ending was accidentally spoiled for me, it did not hinder the emotion that was pulled from me. Seeing the relationship and the love grow between Hazel and Augustus was magical. I loved their ability to laugh and be joyful in the midst of their sickness without forgetting the realness of it all.

I loved the characters in this story and how Hazel saw all of them. I also love that Green didn’t hide from showing the affect that the dying of a child will have on a parent.

This book was fantastic. I’m so emotionally drained from reading it and yet in awe of how beautiful it was.

One thought on “39 – The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

  1. I loved everything about this book. The only thing that could have made it better was if it didn’t have that short undetailed scene in it… I ignored that part though and focused on the genius of the rest.I loved it so much and I read it in one day because I couldn’t put it down. It is another absolutely wonderful book written by the genius John Green!!

Leave a Reply

