47 – Week 1: Complete!

I just finished my first week of Jillian Michael’s Ripped in 30!  And I’m feeling good!  My biceps are a little shaky, but I’m good!

I made a point of not wussing out on anything today and trying to go for the “badass” version of each exercise.  I did alright.  The only thing I didn’t mess with were the stupid side lungs.  For some reason, my body just doesn’t want to do those.  So, I didn’t use the weights for that part; I was still just focusing on the correct form.

I’m also happy to say that I’ve been using 5 lb. weights instead of the 2 1/2 lb. weights Jillian uses.  I was very tempted to go out and buy some 2 1/2 lb weights last Thursday, but decided to push myself.  Only one of the exercises really tired out my arms with the 5 lbs.  (Reverse chair flies)  I’m just excited I’m feeling good!  I’m also glad that I’m finally learning how to do a proper crunch.  I’ve always known the form, but suck at the carrying out of it.  I always tend to hurt my neck muscles.  Jillian’s trick?  Put your tongue on the roof of your mouth.  This past week is the first time I’ve done crunches where I haven’t hurt my neck!  Woohoo!

Tomorrow begins Week 2!  It’s going to hurt but feel so good!

I won’t weigh in until tomorrow morning or Thursday morning.  I haven’t noticed any difference in my appearance, but my arms and legs are feeling stronger.  I also haven’t had any lower back pain.  I think the only thing that could be discouraging is that, since I’m not overweight, I feel like it’ll be harder to see immediate results.  I just keep telling myself to stop thinking and just get to it.  Let how I look on Day 30 be the judge.

On to Week 2!!

Leave a Reply

