51 – Dragonfly in Amber (Outlander #2) by Diana Gabaldon

OK…here’s the Goodreads.com summary.

“For twenty years Claire Randall has kept her secrets. But now she is returning with her grown daughter to Scotland’s majestic mist-shrouded hills. Here Claire plans to reveal a truth as stunning as the events that gave it birth: about the mystery of an ancient circle of standing stones … about a love that transcends the boundaries of time … and about James Fraser, a Scottish warrior whose gallantry once drew a young Claire from the security of her century to the dangers of his….

Now a legacy of blood and desire will test her beautiful copper-haired daughter, Brianna, as Claire’s spellbinding journey of self-discovery continues in the intrigue-ridden Paris court of Charles Stuart … in a race to thwart a doomed Highlands uprising … and in a desperate fight to save both the child and the man she loves….”

When I first started reading this book, I hated it. I hated how it started and I hated what it implied.

Now that I’ve finished it, I’m mad that I don’t have book #3 here to start it. I can’t wait to continue this story.

Claire and Jamie’s love is gut-wrenching and beautiful. Their passion and devotion to one another is amazing.

While I loved “Outlander” because it showed the beginning of Jamie and Claire’s love, “Dragonfly in Amber” shows their complete and utter dedication and faithfulness to one another.

I may have started out hating it…but I ended up loving this book.

And even though I said in my last post that I shouldn’t be allowed to buy another book until I get through at least half of my to-read pile…I’m going to break that and buy Voyager (Outlander #3) this weekend.

Leave a Reply

