55 – Dreamland by Sarah Dessen

Right…So, here’s the Goodreads.com summary for this book.

“Ever since she started going out with Rogerson Biscoe, Caitlin seems to have fallen into a semiconscious dreamland where nothing is quite real. Rogerson is different from anyone Caitlin has ever known. He’s magnetic. He’s compelling. He’s dangerous. Being with him makes Caitlin forget about everything else-her missing sister, her withdrawn mother, her lackluster life. But what happens when being with Rogerson becomes a larger problem than being without him?”

Yeah…this book was so blah to me. The main character, Caitlin, was just so weak and I really couldn’t stand hearing about her. I’ve always heard good things about Sarah Dessen’s writing…but this is discouraging me from even wanting to listen to the other audiobook of her’s that I have out from the libary.

Because of a past relationship with a guy who was into drugs, I have no interest in reading about the downward spiral of a 16-year old girl into the pot-smoking scene.  No, I never did it (thankfully), but I was also never tempted to.  I couldn’t stand the way it made my ex act.  Because of this, reading a book about a girl with that same attitude and action drove me nuts.

Frankly, about 2/3 of the way throught his book I was about ready to quit on it.  But, since I didn’t have anything else to listen to at work, I stuck with it.  Blah.

I’ll still listen to the other Sarah Dessen book I have out from the library, but who knows if I’ll actually enjoy it.  This one was crap to me.

I’m reading a few romance novels.  Remember that stack of books I have?  Four of them were romances.  I’m making myself read through them before I’m allowed to read anything else.  I’m on the third one.  I’ll write a review of all four of them together.

Leave a Reply

