63 – Smoothie Talk

So the other day I made a green smoothie.  My best friend recommended a recipe for it and said since she’s started drinking it, she’s seen the benefits in her skin, digestive system, and hair.  I figured, what the heck.  Why not try it.

The recipe includes the following:  1 1/2 – 2 cups cold water, 5 cups chopped romaine lettuce, 6 cups chopped spinach, 2 stocks celery, 1 apple, 1 pear, 1 banana, 1-2 Tbs of fresh lemon juice.

My best friend swore that you couldn’t taste the greens and that the fruit cancelled it out.  Um…yeah…I do not agree.

While I love spinach and lettuce and celery…you could still absolutely taste them in this drink.  I just couldn’t get past it.  I don’t think it’s for me.  But…I’m definitely still willing to try mixing lettuce in with other fruits for a smoothie.  I plan to leave the spinach for my salads.

In the land of good smoothies…here is the Peanut Butter Banana Smoothie I mentioned in yesterday’s post.  Oh my gosh!  It’s so good!  I whipped it up last night, but didn’t drink my cup until this morning on my way to work.

This drink really is as good as Nick from Macheesmo.com says it is!  I’ve been throwing around the idea of adding some chocolate to it just for the fun of it!  But then again, that will negate the health of this smoothie.

At first, I was pretty skeptical of the tofu and ground flax seeds that go into this.  But besides the added texture of the flax seed (which really just tasted like there were ground nuts in it), it was pretty good.  At first the consistency threw me.  It’s very thick.  But the taste is very good and I’m definitely not hungry right now.  I’m feeling good.

I’ll have the rest of the pitcher tomorrow morning and we’ll see how it tastes after sitting for over a day.

I would absolutely recommend this smoothie!  It’s great tasting and full of protein!

UPDATE:  I just got back from my lunch and it was so nice to not have snacked all morning!  This Peanut Butter & Banana smoothie totally kept me satisfied throughout the morning.  I drank it between 6:30-7:00am and didn’t eat lunch until around 12:45pm.  That’s 6 hours!  It was weird to not have my usual 10 or 10:30 snack.  You’ve got to try this smoothie!

Leave a Reply

