65 – Sex God: Exploring the Endless Connections Between Sexuality and Spirituality by Rob Bell

I’m a huge Rob Bell fan.  When I heard about this book, I absolutely wanted to give it a shot.  Here’s the Goodreads summary.

“God and sex go together. You can’t separate the two, says Bell, because this physical world is intimately linked to deeper spiritual realities. And so, in order to make sense of sexuality, at some point you have to talk about God. With beauty and unusual insight, “Sex God” explores this connection.”

::sigh::

I expected more from Rob Bell. I read his book Velvet Elvis years ago and loved it. Sex God left me disappointed. While he made some great points and insights, I still expected more. I don’t know if it’s that I thought he’d say a little more or what…I just wasn’t feeling it.

I did like Chapter 8 “Johnny and June” talking about the marriage bond and how the passage from Genesis relates to marriage now.

Other than that…I was kind of “eh” on this book.

I’d still recommend it to anyone interested.  I think I just had expectations that were too high.

Leave a Reply

