71 – Halfway to the Grave – by Jeaniene Frost

I heard about this book through my online book club.  There were quite a few ladies on there who recommended it as an interesting paranormal read.  Here’s the Goodreads summary.

“Half-vampire Catherine Crawfield is going after the undead with a vengeance, hoping that one of these deadbeats is her father—the one responsible for ruining her mother’s life. Then she’s captured by Bones, a vampire bounty hunter, and is forced into an unholy partnership.

In exchange for finding her father, Cat agrees to train with the sexy night stalker until her battle reflexes are as sharp as his fangs. She’s amazed she doesn’t end up as his dinner—are there actually good vampires? Pretty soon Bones will have her convinced that being half-dead doesn’t have to be all bad. But before she can enjoy her newfound status as kick-ass demon hunter, Cat and Bones are pursued by a group of killers. Now Cat will have to choose a side… and Bones is turning out to be as tempting as any man with a heartbeat.”

I really enjoyed this book! I really liked the two leads. Cat was fiesty and just wanted to prove herself. Bones was, well, it’s hard not to love a man with an accent that just wants to love you.

When I first heard about this book, I didn’t really know it was paranormal romance.  (With the description above, how did I miss it?!)  But as soon as you get a couple chapters in, you’re definitely aware of that. Not that I’m complaining. There was some great romance in this book as well as a ton of ass-kicking.

I liked the overall story and am curious to see where the author takes the series. The only character that I want to punch in the face is Cat’s mom. Yes, I understand that she wants what is best for her daughter, but she needs to remember that her daughter is an adult and can clearly take care of herself. I understand her mother’s prejudice, but her mother needs to understand that Cat is half-vampire. Vampire is in her blood, literally and figuratively.

Anyway, this was a truly enjoyable read and I look forward to picking up the next book in the series!

Leave a Reply

