88 – Deadlocked (Sookie Stackhouse #12) by Charlaine Harris

This is the first book in the Sookie Stackhouse series that I actually had to wait to read.  This series started out pretty good and I’m a huge fan of the HBO show, True Blood (based on this book series).  As for this book, I’ll let my review speak for itself.  Here’s the Goodreads summary.

“With Felipe de Castro, the Vampire King of Louisiana (and Arkansas and Nevada), in town, it’s the worst possible time for a body to show up in Eric Northman’s front yard—especially the body of a woman whose blood he just drank.

Now, it’s up to Sookie and Bill, the official Area Five investigator, to solve the murder. Sookie thinks that, at least this time, the dead girl’s fate has nothing to do with her. But she is wrong. She has an enemy, one far more devious than she would ever suspect, who’s out to make Sookie’s world come crashing down.”

Actual rating: 2.5 stars

:::sigh:::

I’d already heard from plenty of people that this book wasn’t that great. It felt like it was just another step to the end of this series. Just another “in-between” book. It was definitely that.

I felt like nothing “big” even happened until about 50 pages from the end of the book, and even that wasn’t such a huge deal.  Hell, Eric didn’t make an appearance for almost 75 pages!  The story was lame.  I felt like so many of the pages were filled with Sookie running errands, getting a shower, eating breakfast, etc.  Um…how about a plot?  Or a better storyline?  Or anything else?!  I was bored for so much of this book.

It’s not that this book was terrible. It wasn’t terrible. It’s just that this series has gone on waaaaaay too long. Charlaine Harris could have made this a decent series if she’d have wrapped it up about 3 or 4 books ago.

Yes, I’ll still read the next book, but that’s only because it will be the last in the series. I want to know how Harris ends the series. Though, from what I could tell in this book, I’m pretty sure I know who Sookie will end up with…and I’m not sure I like it.

So all in all…an OK book in what used to be a good series.

Leave a Reply

