97 – Penn Brewery

One of my 30-ish Before 30 goals was to try a new restaurant every other month.  That meant that between starting my list and finishing it next May, we needed to try 10 new restaurants.  Well…yesterday we hit our 10th restaurant.  So even though I’ve technically met the goal, we’ll continue to try some new restaurants.  With that said, I still wanted to share with you the gloriousness of Penn Brewery.

Even though I’m not a beer drinker at all, this place was fantastic!  The atmosphere was fun!  The food was amazing!  And the all around experience was great!

We went with a few of our friends and shared a few appetizers and had dinner.  For appetizers, we had The Original Penn Brewery Beer Cheese (served with crackers), Pretzels with Beer Cheese, and the Buffalo Chicken Pierogi.  Oh man!  It was so good!  The Buffalo Chicken Pierogi especially.  Growing up around a 100% Polish mother and grandmother, Pierogies were something I’ve always loved.  Never would I have thought about mixing Buffalo Chicken and Pierogi.  Genius.  It was delicious!  I could have happily eaten that the entire night.

For my meal, I ordered the Chicken Duquesne.  It’s described as “Grilled breast of chicken topped with bacon, onions, spinach, and Dijon sauce on an herbed toast round.  Served with mashed potatoes.”  Holy wow.  It was amazing!  The sauce was just so good.  In the words of our server, “It has a very neat sauce.”  That had me chuckling.  But in all honesty, I don’t even know how to describe the sauce.  You could taste the Dijon, but I couldn’t figure out what else was in the sauce.  It was a little sweet, but that’s all I could tell.  It was fantastic.

I only drank water (since I don’t like beer and I’ve cut soda out of my diet), but the others in our party enjoyed all of the beers they drank.  It was an all around great experience and we plan to go back soon!

To learn more about the history of Penn Brewery or to check out their website, just click here: Penn Brewery.

Leave a Reply

