107 – Naked in Death (In Death #1) by J.D. Robb

So I’m a huge Nora Roberts fan…as most of you know from the reviews of previous books.  When talking with other Nora fans, they’ve always recommended the In Death series that she writes under the pseudonym, J.D. Robb.  Even though it’s in the mystery/thriller genre, I read the description and thought I’d enjoy it.  Here’s the summary from Goodreads.

“In hardcover for the first time, here is the novel that started it all-the first book in J. D. Robb’s number-one New York Times-bestselling In Death series, featuring New York City homicide detective Lieutenant Eve Dallas and Roarke.

It is the year 2058, and technology now completely rules the world. But New York City Detective Eve Dallas knows that the irresistible impulses of the human heart are still ruled by just one thing-passion.

When a senator’s daughter is killed, the secret life of prostitution she’d been leading is revealed. The high-profile case takes Lieutenant Eve Dallas into the rarefied circles of Washing-ton politics and society. Further complicating matters is Eve’s growing attraction to Roarke, who is one of the wealthiest and most influential men on the planet, devilishly handsome… and the leading suspect in the investigation.”

True Rating: 4.5 stars

I really liked this book! And I love knowing I found another series that I enjoy and can jump in to at any time.

The two main characters, Eve Dallas and Roarke are great! They have some wonderful chemistry and banter. I also am curious to see where their story goes overall amidst all of the murders and police investigations. While I understand Eve’s past is going to haunt her, I still just don’t understand how she didn’t just drool all over Roarke at first! I mean seriously…he makes you swoon!

Even though this is a mystery/thriller type book/series, that little bit of romance definitely grabs my attention and keeps me interested. I don’t usually go for the mystery/thriller genre. But I love Nora Roberts (JD Robb) and how she writes!

I’ll absolutely be continuing this series!

Leave a Reply

