140 – The Princess Diaries by Meg Cabot

The Princess DiariesSo, I love The Princess Diaries movies.  There’s just something so sweet and cute about them.  Not to mention, seeing Julie Andrews as the Queen of Genovia?  Awesome.  Because I love those movies, I’d always wanted to give the books a try since I’ve heard they’re a bit different than the movies.  While picking up Daughter of Smoke & Bone at the library the other day, I saw this book and thought I’d pick it up.  I started it and finished it a few hours later.  Definitely a quick read.  Here’s the Goodreads summary.

“She’s just a New York City girl living with her artist mom…

News Flash: Dad is prince of Genovia. (So that’s why a limo meets her at the airport!)

Downer: Dad can’t have any more kids. (So no heir to the throne.)

Shock of the Century: Like it or not, Mia Thermopolis is prime princess material.

Mia must take princess lessons from her dreaded grandmére, the dowager princess of Genovia, who thinks Mia has a thing or two to learn before she steps up to the throne.

Well, her father can lecture her until he’s royal-blue in the face about her princessly duty–no way is she moving to Genovia and leaving Manhattan behind. But what’s a girl to do when her name is Princess Amelia Mignonette Grimaldi Thermopolis Renaldo?”

I love the Princess Diaries movies and so I’ve wanted to read the books for a while. I’m so glad I started them. I’m anxious to see how they differ from the movies.

This was a cute book that I was able to finish in just a few hours. I like the characters that are new to me, Tina especially. I’ll definitely be picking up the rest of this series.
LIKE IT

Leave a Reply

