148 – Crossed (Matched #2) by Ally Condie

CrossedI read the first in this series, Matched (Goodreads summary here), about a year and a half ago.  Maybe more.  It was an OK book.  I knew at some point I’d read the next two in the trilogy, but since I wasn’t too blown away by the initial book, I didn’t rush to do it.  While at the library the other day, I saw this book and the last in the series, Reached, were available on audiobook.  I figured I’d pick them up now since I’m still waiting on the next In Death series audiobook to come in for me.  Here’s the Goodreads summary.

“Cassia and Ky both narrate their quests crossing the ochre mountainous Carving to reach their love. She seeks the resistance, The Rising led by the Pilot, but does he? New teen friends red-haired Indie, fishing Vic, and chatty Eli 11, join them. Nothing is as expected on the edge of Society, where crosses and double crosses make the path more twisted than ever.”

I might have enjoyed this book more if I’d read it instead of listened to it. I really didn’t like how the narrators read. It was like they were trying to be too dramatic. I get that narrating an audiobook is like acting, but this was almost soap opera-like acting. I didn’t like them.

With that said…the story itself wasn’t bad. I’m still pretty “meh” on this story. Maybe it’s because I love the Delirium series so much more. I don’t know. I’m still not really fond of Ky. I think Cassia would be better with Xander. In fact, I’m not really a fan of Cassia either. Xander, I like.

So yeah, the only reason I even listened to this book was because another book I wanted wasn’t available yet. And that’s the only reason I’ll be moving on to listening to Reached.
JUST OK

Leave a Reply

