170 – Goal 23 Complete!

Goal #23: Make a fruit pie from scratch.  No short cuts!

That’s right!  Another goal crossed off my list!

As I love baking, it may surprise you to know that I had never made a fruit pie before…much less from scratch.  So, putting this on my 30-ish Before 30 list might sound silly, but was really something I’ve wanted to do for some time.

Since I’m usually the one that makes dessert for Easter when getting together with my mother-in-law’s side of the family, I figured this would be as good a time as any to take on this goal.  I found a recipe for Cherry Pie in my Better Homes & Gardens cookbook and then got my mom’s pie dough crust recipe.  I was ready to roll.

Pie-1Here’s a shot of my lovely crust in the pie pan ready to go.  It sure didn’t look pretty, but it was in there and it fit well.  One thing I did notice afterward was that you can tell I’m used to rolling dough out for cookies.  I think my crust was a bit too thick.  I didn’t get any complaints, and was even told by some of those eating it that they like a thicker crust.

Pie-2Here’s what the filling looked like before It was put in the pie.  It was just frozen cherries, sugar, and cornstarch.  Since I opted for frozen cherries, the filling had to sit for 45-50 minutes in the sugar and cornstarch mixture.  I think one thing I would do differently next time is not use my favorite stainless steel bowl for it.  Because the cherries were frozen, I think the stainless steel helped keep the cherries cold when they were supposed to be thawing a bit.  I’ll use one of my plastic bowls instead.

Pie-4Here’s the pie all ready to go into the oven!  I opted for the lattice top since it’s the most decorative and I figured since I was making it from scratch, I might as well go all out.  Lattice tops are actually pretty easy.  As you can see, my strips aren’t exactly even in width or placement, but no big deal.  It’s all about flavor and taste when making a pie.  Who cares if it looks perfect!

Pie-5And here’s the finished product!  Fresh out of the oven!  It looked great!  And it tasted pretty good!  The pie wasn’t as sweet as I thought it would be.  The recipe called for tart cherries but all I could find were sweet cherries.  Then add to that all of the sugar that goes into the filling.  The pie still had great flavor and everyone that had some enjoyed it!  One of Don’s aunts even complimented me saying that she has never made a fruit pie from scratch.  That made me feel great!  I’m so glad I added this goal to my list.  It might seem like a silly thing to want to do, but I’m glad I did.  Now I know that making pies isn’t such a time consuming or “scary” thing.

Leave a Reply

