183 – Infertility Survival Handbook by Elizabeth Swire-Falker

Infertility Survival HandbookI picked up this book after an extremely emotional cycle.  I was at Barnes & Noble and was happy I didn’t have to go to the Pregnancy section to find a book on Infertility.  Even though I bought it months ago, I never actually cracked open the book until a couple days ago.  I plowed right through it.  Here’s the Goodreads summary:

“After seven years of tests and more tests, treatments and more treatments, Elizabeth Swire-Falker understands what it means to struggle with infertility. In this frank, reassuring, and thoroughly researched handbook, she shares her own personal experience and offers insight into what challenges to expect along the way-from getting support to finding the right doctor to dealing with insurance.”

It’s hard to rate a book based on something so heartbreaking.

The author really lays it all out for you. The only things I really disagreed with were:

1 – She constantly goes on and on about how the medications you get put on with different fertility treatments will make you bitchy. Nothing I’ve been on has ever given me such mood swings and I know plenty of women who felt the same way. If she’d only said it once or twice, I wouldn’t have brought it up. But I swear she mentions it multiple times in each chapter.

2 – She says that if you’re doing any treatments, even IUI and especially IVF, you should take that cycle off from work. That’s just crazy to me. Honestly, I think that would make me go insane. I’d never have any distractions and would constantly be thinking about what’s going on inside of me.

Other than that, I think this book has some valuable information. It’s a bit outdated now, but it still spells out most of the fertility treatments and what is done and expected of you as the patient.
LIKE IT

Leave a Reply

