186 – Dead Ever After (Sookie Stackhouse #13) by Charlaine Harris

Dead Ever AfterTHERE WILL BE SPOILERS IN THIS POST. 

OK…I started reading this series about two years ago.  My cousin loaned me the first 10 books and I quickly got hooked.  Once I hit book 9, the series started going down hill for me.  But, because I knew there would only be 13 books in this series, I pushed through and committed to reading the rest of the series.  Well, the last book in the series hit shelves last month and I read it this past Saturday.  Here’s the Goodreads summary.

There are secrets in the town of Bon Temps, ones that threaten those closest to Sookie—and could destroy her heart…

Sookie Stackhouse finds it easy to turn down the request of former barmaid Arlene when she wants her job back at Merlotte’s. After all, Arlene tried to have Sookie killed. But her relationship with Eric Northman is not so clearcut. He and his vampires are keeping their distance…and a cold silence. And when Sookie learns the reason why, she is devastated.

Then a shocking murder rocks Bon Temps, and Sookie is arrested for the crime.

But the evidence against Sookie is weak, and she makes bail. Investigating the killing, she’ll learn that what passes for truth in Bon Temps is only a convenient lie. What passes for justice is more spilled blood. And what passes for love is never enough…”

True Rating: 2.5 stars

:::sigh::: I’m so glad this series is over. Charlaine Harris was definitely just trying to make more money off of it. Had she ended the series about 3 or 4 books ago, it would have been a good-great series. Instead, she stretches it out for several more books and takes it down to just a fair series. I only read this book because I’d already put the time into the other 12 books and wanted to know what happened. And I’m glad I pushed through and finished it in one day. Now I can move on and never think about this BOOK series again.  (I still love me some True Blood on HBO.)

I can sum it up by saying that it was entirely predictable. And not in a good way.

**SPOILERS**

Seriously, as if at the end of book 12 everyone didn’t know Sookie would end up with Sam? And really…like Eric would have really stayed with her? And she and Bill are just friends? I think the only thing that was good about this book was that Jason got married to a nice girl. That’s about it. Oh…except for Quinn coming back. That was nice. But it would have been nicer had Sookie ended up with him rather than Sam. Sam’s so…vanilla.

We barely saw Eric, Bill & Alcide. What the hell is the point of this series other than to see/hear from the hot guys?!

**  END SPOILERS  **

As I said above, I’m so glad to be done with this series. The first 9 books or so had so much potential…then it all just went down hill. What a disappointment.
JUST OK

Leave a Reply

