192 – Beyond the Highland Mist (Highlander #1) by Karen Marie Moning

Beyond the Highland MistAs you all read last year, I love the Fever series by Karen Marie Moning.  They are fantastic books and I love her writing style.  If you forget what I’m talking about, you can read about my love of that series here, here, and here.  Anyway, since I love this author so much and I’m a big fan of historical fiction, I figured I’d check out KMM’s Highlander series.  Here’s the Goodreads summary for the first book:

“He would sell his warrior soul to possess her. . . .

An alluring laird…

He was known throughout the kingdom as Hawk, legendary predator of the battlefield and the boudoir. No woman could refuse his touch, but no woman ever stirred his heart—until a vengeful fairy tumbled Adrienne de Simone out of modern-day Seattle and into medieval Scotland. Captive in a century not her own, entirely too bold, too outspoken, she was an irresistible challenge to the sixteenth-century rogue. Coerced into a marriage with Hawk, Adrienne vowed to keep him at arm’s length—but his sweet seduction played havoc with her resolve.

A prisoner in time…

She had a perfect “no” on her perfect lips for the notorious laird, but Hawk swore she would whisper his name with desire, begging for the passion he longed to ignite within her. Not even the barriers of time and space would keep him from winning her love. Despite her uncertainty about following the promptings of her own passionate heart, Adrienne’s reservations were no match for Hawk’s determination to keep her by his side. . . .”

I really enjoy reading KMM’s work. This was another of her books that grabbed me and kept me reading.

The only thing I found lacking in this book was how convenient some of the circumstances were. It was a predictable read, but I still liked it.

If you want an easy read about love with some Scottish flare, this is a good choice. I still absolutely prefer the Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon and would recommend that over this series.
LIKE IT

Leave a Reply

