205 – Allegiant (Divergent #3) by Veronica Roth

AllegiantI have been anticipating this book for so long.  I didn’t buy it right away because Don and I are trying to be better about our finances and, being that it’s so close to Christmas, I figured I’d add it to my Christmas list.  In the mean time, I requested it from the library so I could at least read it.  I can tell you this…most of the ladies in my book club hated this book.  Hearing that kind of scared me and made me glad I didn’t run out and buy it.  Here’s the Goodreads summary:

“The faction-based society that Tris Prior once believed in is shattered—fractured by violence and power struggles and scarred by loss and betrayal. So when offered a chance to explore the world past the limits she’s known, Tris is ready. Perhaps beyond the fence, she and Tobias will find a simple new life together, free from complicated lies, tangled loyalties, and painful memories.

But Tris’s new reality is even more alarming than the one she left behind. Old discoveries are quickly rendered meaningless. Explosive new truths change the hearts of those she loves. And once again, Tris must battle to comprehend the complexities of human nature—and of herself—while facing impossible choices about courage, allegiance, sacrifice, and love.

Told from a riveting dual perspective, Allegiant, by #1 New York Times best-selling author Veronica Roth, brings the Divergent series to a powerful conclusion while revealing the secrets of the dystopian world that has captivated millions of readers in Divergent and Insurgent.”

I finished. I’m still processing. Rating and review to come.

REVIEW:
I try to keep my reviews spoiler-free and will continue to do so with this one.

:::sigh:::

This was not the ending to this series that I was hoping for. I had visions of grandeur and didn’t get it.

While many of the people I know hated this book, I didn’t. I certainly wasn’t in love with it or where Roth took it, but I can kind of see why she ended the series this way.

I think a big part of the problem I had with this book was the pace. Divergent and Insurgent were such fast moving books that this one felt like a snail in comparison. I finished the other two in two days whereas this one took a week. And I was just speaking with a friend who said that had she not already been invested in the series and wanting to know the ending, she would have stopped reading by now. I also wasn’t expecting such a scientific book. There was a lot of focus on the serums and the science behind them. I didn’t expect that.

Other than that, it was interesting to hear about the world outside of the fences. I also liked learning more about Tris’ mom and her background/history.

There’s not much else I can write without heading into spoiler territory. So I’ll leave it at this…

If you’ve already spent time reading the first two books in this trilogy, take the time to read this conclusion. You’ll either hate the ending or feel like I did and understand why Roth did what she did. I can’t see anyone actually loving this book.
JUST OK

Leave a Reply

